Eight Tigerhawks gain football recognition in all districts – Newton Daily News

Two Colfax-Mingo football players ended their high school careers last season.

And one subclass in particular seems to be ready for a special finish to its own.

Seniors Cole Bracewell and Shane Aikin ended their preparation careers with a first team nod in all districts. Sophomore Curtis Horras joined this Tigerhawk duo in the District 6 Class A first team, which won the honor as both wide receiver and kicker.

Senior wide receivers Justin Myers and Colton Lind and second-year defensive back Trey Hockemeier were second-team selections, while seniors Grant Alexander and second-year Merritt McConeghey were honorable mention picks.

All District Honors are based on District Game stats only.

Bracewell led District 6 in Class A with 1,336 passing yards and 13 touchdown passes. He was 109 of 165 in the air and had five interceptions.

Bracewell was also 10th in the district with 292 rushing yards and eighth with five rushing touchdowns.

Aikin had his best season in a Tigerhawk uniform as a member of the offensive line. The CM offense threw for a 1340-yard best district and scored 19 offensive touchdowns, which placed fifth.

Horras has shown what the district needs to stand up for in the next two years. He was third in the district with 24 catches, second with 540 receiving yards and first with six receiving touchdowns. His 22.5 yard-per-catch average also topped the district.

As a unanimous first-team kicker, Horras netted a 22-yard field goal and scored 14 of 15 extra points.

Myers and Lind have also been productive as receivers.

Myers was seventh in the district with 17 catches, but fourth with 219 receiving yards. He also placed second with four touchdown catches and was averaging 13.7 yards per take.

Lind was fourth with 23 catches and had 157 receiving yards.

Hockemeier made 22 1/2 tackles in the district game.

Alexander was also part of CM’s offensive line. He had 12 tackles, two sacks and five tackles for losses as a defensive lineman.

McConeghey finished with 25 1/2 tackles and two fumble recoveries as one of WC’s starting linebackers.

Class A District 6

Final ranking

District team overall

Lynnville-Sully 6-0 8-2

Belle Plaine 5-1 6-3

Ogden 3-3 4-5

Madrid 3-3 3-6

Colfax-Mingo 3-3 3-6

North Mahaska 1-5 2-6

Wayne 0-6 0-8

Offensive MVP

Corder Nom Harder, therefore., Lynnville-Sully

Defensive MVP

Ben DeMeulenaere, Sr., Belle Plaine

Coach of the year

Mike Parkinson, Lynnville-Sully

The whole district

First team


Strategist: Cole Bracewell, sr., CM.

To recover: * Kyle Squires, jr., LS; Matt Fuller, father, Madrid.

Recipient: Curtis Horras, so., CM; * Nash Smith, jr., North Mahaska; Jack Christensen, jr., Ogden.

Offensive line: Braden Alberts, sr., LS; Shane Aikin, sr., CM; * Tristan Mallory, jr., Madrid; * Abraham Christensen, father, Ogden; Chase Wickwire, jr., Belle Plaine.

Utility: Mathias Torres, jr., LS.

Kicker: * Curtis Horras, so., CM.


Defensive line: * Ty Jones, Sr., LS; * Ashton Meland, jr., North Mahaska; * Eli Ehlen, father, Belle Plaine; * Justin McConahay, father, Wayne.

linebacker: Lane Fisk, jr., LS; * Connor Timm, jr., Belle Plaine; Brady Leonard, Sr., Madrid; Chase Grandia, sr., Mahaska North.

Defensive back: Conner Maston, jr., LS; Jaydyn Steil, sr., North Mahaska; Dylan Perdue, jr., Ogden; Jake Kockler, jr., Madrid.

bettor: Ben DeMeulenaere, Sr., Belle Plaine.

* Unanimous selections

Second team


Strategist: Lane Snedden, father, Ogden

To recover: Kaden Moorman, Sr., Ogden; Ty Alcott, fr., Belle Plaine.

Recipient: Justin Myers, Sr., CM; Colton Lind, Sr., CM; Cael Pearson, jr., Ogden.

Offensive line: Miles Mintle, Sr., LS; Wyatt Van Weelden, jr., North Mahaska; Nik Bolton, therefore., Ogden; Tristan Miller, jr., Madrid; Jack Schwenn, jr., Belle Plaine.

Utility: Sam Terpstra, sr., Mahaska North.

Kicker: Matthew Samuelson, so., Ogden.


Defensive line: Gage Elscott, sr., LS; Keaton Westberg, therefore., Ogden; Nolan Anderson, Sr., Madrid; Sheldon Coover, Sr., Belle Plaine.

linebacker: Max Mintle, so., LS; Corydon Kiefer, therefore., Wayne; Nathan Comer, therefore, Ogden; Nash Ramirez, therefore., Madrid.

Defensive back: Trey Hockemeier, so., CM; Detroit Jacobson, jr., Wayne; Sean Knockel, sr., North Mahaska; Caydon Tucker, jr., Madrid.

bettor: Conner Maston, jr., LS.

Honorable mention

Jager Huyser, jr., LS; Caleb Rea, jr., LS; Grant Alexander, sr., CM; Merritt McConeghey, therefore., CM; Jeremy Reineke, therefore., Belle Plaine; Alex Wilson, jr., Ogden; Cohl Burdette, therefore., Ogden; Asher Den Adel, Sr., Madrid; Jake Leonard, therefore., Madrid; Michael DeJong, sr., North Mahaska; Paul DeJong, jr., North Mahaska; Cutler Buban, Fr., Wayne; Boudyn White, so, Wayne.

About Joyce Hill

Check Also

Residents of this Iowa town asked to get rid of their chickens

A poultry business is brewing in Ogden. Residents who own chickens are told that the …