Ogden, North Ogden, West Haven, Washington Terrace Primary Voting Ends | Government

OGDEN – The climax of the primary elections is looming in the municipal elections around Weber County, but few people seem to be paying attention.

Only about 12.4% of voters voted by mail or drop-box, only 7,200 of Weber County’s roughly 58,000 who received ballots, said Ryan Cowley, chief of the county elections office on Friday. by Weber. In addition, only 10 people voted at the in-person early polling station at the Weber Center in Ogden on Wednesday, when it opened, and Thursday.

“It’s a little lower than we expected, but these kinds of elections usually don’t have a lot of turnout,” Cowley said. The primary vote culminates on Tuesday and the best voters go to the general election ballot on November 2.

The primaries for seven seats are held on various ballots in Ogden, North Ogden, Washington Terrace and West Haven. Races in other towns in the county do not have enough candidates to necessitate primaries and hopes for those contests go straight to the November ballot.

On the ballot in West Haven are three mayoral candidates, incumbent Sharon Bolos and challengers Rob Vanderwood and Pat Young. The primary vote will reduce the list to two.

On the ballot in Ogden, six candidates for Council A seat, incumbent Marcia White and challengers Jack Barnes, John Ogden, Jase Reyneveld, Daniel Gladwell and John Thompson. The first two voters move on.

Three candidates are on the ballot for the District 3 seat on Ogden City Council, Mary Khalaf, Ken Richey and Priscilla Martinez. The first two voters pass in November.

In the north of the Ogden, seven candidates are running for two vacant city council seats. They are incumbent Blake Cevering as well as Jay Dalpias, Merrill Sunderland, Anthony Swenson, Greg Smith, Spencer Stephens and Stefanie Casey. The primary vote will reduce the list to four.

In Washington Terrace, eight candidates are running for two city council positions. They are incumbents Larry Weir and Jeff West plus Scott Simpson, Hayden Christensen, Jill Christiansen, Kathleen Craynor, Cody Harris and Nathan Howard. The first four voters move on.

The vast majority of people vote by mail in Weber County, and mail-in ballots must be postmarked by Monday if sent through the US Postal Service. Ballots can also be dropped off in drop boxes across the county until 8 p.m. on Tuesday.

Early in-person voting will continue Monday at the Weber Center, 2380 Washington Blvd., from noon to 6 p.m. The in-person vote will also take place at the Weber Center, where the Weber County Election Office is located, on Tuesday, Primary Election Day. , from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Many other municipal positions that are not on the primary ballot will be on the November ballot.

About Joyce Hill

Check Also

New commercial building with restaurants planned for Ogden Corridor

A four-tenant commercial building is slated for construction on land located in Naperville’s commercial corridor …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.