Six Weber County mayoral races challenged this cycle (seven others are not) | News, Sports, Jobs

TIM VANDENACK, standard examiner

Weber County Election Officers process the ballots at the Weber County Election Office on Thursday, October 29, 2020. Counterclockwise, from right: Lori Lovelady, Julie Brunker, Kamie Warren, Deanna Phister, Madilyn Topik, Tom Bland and Lynda Bland.

OGDEN – New leaders could arrive in several towns in Weber County after the ballots were counted on November 2. Many, at least, face challenges.

Here’s a look at the mayoral races on the ballot this year in Weber County, first the contested ones (there are six):

Farr West: Incumbent Lee Dickemore faces a challenge from Farr West City Council member Ken Phippen.

Harrisville: Incumbent Michelle Tait faces a challenge from Larry Lilly.

Huntsville: Huntsville will have a new mayor as incumbent Jim Truett does not seek re-election. The candidates are Doug Allen and Richard Sorensen, member of the Huntsville City Council.

Plain city: Outgoing Mayor Jon Beesley faces a challenge from Miles Robinson.

Washington Terrace: Outgoing Mayor Mark Allen faces a challenge from Brett DeGroot.

West Haven: Outgoing Mayor Sharon Bolos faces a challenge from West Haven City Council member Rob Vanderwood.

Riverdale: Riverdale will have a new mayor – Braden Mitchell, the only hope for the top spot on the ballot. Incumbent Norm Searle is not seeking re-election.

Marriott-Slaterville: Outgoing mayor Scott VanLeeuwen is the only candidate for mayor.

North Ogdem: The outgoing mayor Neal Berube is the only candidate for mayor.

Pleasant view: Outgoing Mayor Leonard Call is the only candidate for mayor.

Roy: The outgoing mayor Bob Dandoy is the only candidate for mayor.

South Ogden: Outgoing Mayor Russell Porter is the only candidate for mayor.

Uintah: Outgoing Mayor Gordon Cutler is the only candidate for mayor.

The positions of mayor of Hooper and Ogden are not up for election this cycle.

Mail-in ballots have been mailed to registered voters and must be postmarked by Nov. 1 if mailed back to the Weber County Election Office. They can also be left in one of the drop boxes scattered around the county before 8 p.m. on November 2, when voting peaks.


Join the thousands of people who already receive our daily newsletter.

About Joyce Hill

Check Also

Residents of this Iowa town asked to get rid of their chickens

A poultry business is brewing in Ogden. Residents who own chickens are told that the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.