Weber County Candidates Begin Submitting Nominations for Offices to Win This Round | News, Sports, Jobs

Tim Vandenack, Standard Examiner

From right, Weber County election workers Matthew Cowley, Emily Price, Patti Sawyer and John Usher wait for voters at Weber Center on Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2021. Most voters vote by mail or drop boxes.

OGDEN — The nomination period for the 2022 electoral cycle has started and a few candidates have already officially registered.

The period is Monday to Friday at 5 p.m. It’s actually a week earlier than originally planned, but the dates have been moved by Senate Bill 170legislation signed into law by Governor Spencer Cox on February 14.

Weber County voters will be weigh in on everything from the U.S. senator to school board candidates this circuit. Specifically, here are some of the posts up for grabs:

  • The U.S. Senate seat is now held by Mike Lee and the U.S. House 1st District seat is now held by Blake Moore.
  • The seat of the Utah District 5 Senate, which covers parts of South Ogden, South Ogden, Riverdale, and Washington Terrace, as well as parts of adjacent Davis and Morgan counties. Ann Millner currently serves part of the area as a senator from District 18, but redistricting maps approved by lawmakers last year change the district’s boundaries and renumber it as District 5.
  • The Utah House seats of Districts 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12. Matt Gwynn represents the area encompassing most of what will be District 6 by redrawing, renumbering, and redesigning from District 29. The others Current office holders are Ryan Wilcox, District 7; Steve Waldrip, District 8; Calvin Musselman, District 9; Rosemary Lesser, District 10; Kelly Miles, District 11; and Mike Schultz, District 12. Aside from District 6, the other districts covering Weber County retain the same district numbers, although their boundaries have changed.
  • Seats A and B on the Weber County Commission, both general positions covering the entire county. Re-election candidate Gage Froerer fills seat A while Scott Jenkins, not seeking re-election, fills seat B.
  • The positions of Weber County Sheriff, County Clerk-Auditor and County Attorney, now held by Ryan Arbon, Ricky Hatch and Christopher Allred respectively.
  • The seats of districts 2, 4 and 7 in Ogden School Boardnow owned by Doug Barker, Amber Allred and Joyce Wilson.
  • The seats of districts 1, 2, 3 and 6 in Weber School Boardpositions now held by Dean Oborn, Jan Burrell, Bruce Jardine and Janis Christensen.

Federal candidates file with the Utah Lieutenant Governor’s office, while Utah House and Senate candidates can file with the office of the clerk-auditor in the county where they live or the office of the Lt. -governor. County and school board hopefuls file with the county clerk’s office where they live.

Several candidates had already filed their intention to run on Monday afternoon and many had publicly declared their plans before the filing period had even started. Seat B of the Weber County Commission, for its part, had attracted the interest of five hopefuls last week.

Image provided, Utah Legislative Redistricting Committee

This map shows the Utah House district boundaries in Weber County, redrawn by Utah lawmakers in late 2021. The new districts go into effect for the 2022 cycle elections.

The Weber County Office of Elections website, weberelections.govcontains more information, including a running list of candidates filing for office.

State officials moved the one-week filing period so it doesn’t overlap with the start of caucus meetings across the state by local Republican and Democratic party officials.

The Weber County Republican Party convention, when the number of GOP hopefuls for various county offices could face impoverishment, is set for March 26. Primary voting peaks on June 28, and Election Day this year is November 8.


Join thousands of people who already receive our daily newsletter.

About Joyce Hill

Check Also

Weber State Men’s Basketball Finalizes Busy 2022-23 Schedule | News, Sports, Jobs

Bridget Mayfield, EWU Athletics Weber State players rally during a game against Eastern …